Register or Login to Hide This Ad for Free!
Nov 23, 2013
(Sorry - not-so-great movie reference but the title fits)

I don't usually post on these forums but I saw something yesterday I have never seen at Busch Gardens...and I have been visiting the park for over thirty years. First off, it was hot - very very hot. Just venturing outside for a few minutes felt like some kind of extreme sauna experiment gone wrong. Nevertheless, I wanted to start off my vacation at my favorite 'escapia'. I boarded the Mach Tower sometime after 6:00pm. As the ride slowly spun up towards the top of the tower, we could start to see a good portion of the park once we got past the tree line. Moments later, a gentleman who was sitting next to me pointed towards the bridge connecting Germany to Italy and stated "There's someone in the water". To my surprise, I did see a lady in the Rhine River, just to the right of the pillars of the bridge. It appeared to be a lady aged anywhere from her late teens to her fifties. It was hard to tell as we were nearly 200 feet up by that time. As Mach Tower continued to rise, we could clearly see this lady swimming towards the shore line opposite of Verbolten. Normally, I would have reacted in shock thinking that she must have either fallen or jumped in to the river. However, she appeared to be swimming casually and did not seem to be in any distress. She looked to be AHHHHHHHH!!!..and just like that, we dropped. As I was saying, she looked like she was using a typical breath stroke swimming style. Upon review, I do not think she jumped or fell from the bridge, because I doubt the water is deep enough for anyone to survive. I also do not think that she jumped from a Rhine River Cruise boat either, because I did get a chance to quickly glance at the loading boat platform while at the top of the tower. There did not seem to be any commotion as one might expect if someone were to jump off from the boat or platform. Following exiting the ride, I immediately dar